top of page

Is Heinz Ketchup Vegan?: Let's Find Out

Updated: Aug 15, 2022

Due to the versatility of ketchup usage, it's safe to say it's the king of American condiments. Ketchup goes with lots of dishes: burgers, onion rings, fries, grilled meals, and pretty much every American food.

The truth is that 97% of American homes have a ketchup bottle on their table. Therefore, it's unsurprising that newly-converted vegans would want to know if ketchup is vegan or not.

Heinz, a household name and the king of ketchup due to its premium ingredients and quality taste, has always been the subject of inquiry for new vegans. So, have you been asking, "is Heinz ketchup vegan?" This article explores the ingredients used in the product and its health benefits. Read to the end!

Heinz Ketchup on the table

Is Heinz Ketchup Vegan or Not?

The simple answer is Yes! Heinz tomato ketchup is vegan because the products don't have cane sugar processed with bone char. As a strict vegan, Heinz organic tomato ketchup is your best choice, especially the "no sugar added" option.

Also, organizations promoting veganism, such as Food for Life Global, the leading hunger relief organization serving 2 million freshly cooked vegan meals daily to solve a world hunger need, can use Heinz as safe ketchup for their meals.

As a vegan, it'd be best to avoid non-vegan ketchup brands using cane sugar, as it might have been filtered with bone char consisting of AC, calcium phosphate, and calcium carbonate.

Ketchup manufacturers use bone char because it's a natural carbon, while the sugar industry uses it as a decolorizing filter. Bone char (an animal product) is heated at a higher temperature; therefore, the end product isn't suitable for people on plant-based diets.

Nevertheless, some ketchup manufacturers use vegan sugar substitutes, like granular carbon, beet sugar, and maple syrup, to avoid animal products. Due to the sugar issue, most vegans check for non-organic sugar before consuming ketchup to ensure it didn't involve any animal product or bone char during its processing.

Suppose you've been wondering, "is Heinz tomato ketchup vegan?" you have your answer.

Vegan Ketchup Vs. Plant-based Ketchup

Generally, ketchup is vegan, as the ingredients are plant-based spice, seasoning, distilled vinegar, sugar, and tomatoes, which are perfect for a vegan diet.

The only concern for most vegans is sugar because it's a common practice for sugar manufacturers to process sugar with bone char.

Most organic associations recognize Heinz Organic Ketchup as 100% vegan because it uses alternative sweeteners like high fructose as its ingredients. As a vegan, ensure you avoid buying ketchup brands with natural flavors where it's difficult to pinpoint the source.

Heinz Ketchup Ingredients

Heinz ketchup is made from tomato pulps with zero artificial flavors, meaning it's 100% plant-based and vegan. The product contains:

  • Natural Flavoring

Heinz ketchup natural favoring is plant-based and gotten from fermented leaves, roots, herbs, and spices.

  • Distilled Vinegar

Distilled vinegar comes from grain-alcohol mixtures and you can use it for marinades and pickled vegetables. Heinz uses distilled vinegar for their ketchup.

  • Onion Powder, Salt, and Spice

Spices used for ketchup are plant-based, which makes them best for vegans. On the other hand, salt is the perfect vegan source of iodine. Lastly, onion powder is also a 100% plant-based ingredient.

Heinz vegan ketchup and spices on the table
  • High-fructose Corn Syrup

Ketchup manufacturers add enzymes to corn syrups to enable the glucose to convert to fructose (organic or fruit sugar). This sugar is present in berries and fruits, which is why it's called fructose. Heinz ketchup uses vegan-friendly sugar, as the processing hardly involves animal bones or bone char.

Heinz Ketchup Health Benefits

Besides asking, "is ketchup vegan"? You'll need to understand the health benefits of ketchup. Heinz ketchup has many health benefits due to its natural ingredients. Some of them include:

  1. Enhances Eyesight

Besides its taste, Heinz ketchup contains vitamin A which promotes good vision and helps to improve the immune system.

  1. Decreases Prostate Cancer Risk

According to research, consuming tomato sauce twice a week reduces the chance of prostate cancer by 20% in men.

  1. Reduces Cholesterol

Heinz ketchup consumption lowers the low-density lipoprotein, also called bad cholesterol.

  1. Increases Men's Sperm Count

Red ripe tomatoes contain lycopene which enhances male fertility. According to research, lycopene decreases abnormal sperm and increases sperm count.

Can Vegans Use Heinz Ketchup?

Heinz ketchup is safe for vegans to consume, as the ingredients are natural sweeteners, onion powder, flavorings, spices, salt, vinegar, and tomato concentrate. However, it's sometimes hard to pinpoint where the sweeteners used for the sugar come from seeing as Heinz ketchup has many variants.

If you're unsure of the sugar in the ketchup, consider buying Heinz Tomato With No Sugar Added, which doesn't use animal products as its ingredients.

On the other hand, you can make your own ketchup if you don't trust brands in the market. However, Heinz ketchup is an excellent choice for vegans. So if you've been asking, "is Heinz ketchup vegan"? You already have your answer.


Is Heinz Sugar Ketchup Vegan?

Heinz ketchup is generally suitable for vegans but to be on the safe side; you might want to go for their " no sugar added" variant, containing sucralose rather than cane sugar. Sucralose is vegan-friendly.

What Ingredients Are Used for Heinz Ketchup?

The classic Heinz ketchup contains natural flavor, spice, onion, salt, corn syrup, high fructose, distilled vinegar, and tomato concentrate. These ingredients are all natural.

Is Heinz Ketchup Healthy?

Ketchup is a low-calorie product made from healthy spices and tomatoes, making it perfect for people looking to lose weight. It contains cooked and processed tomatoes with high lycopene antioxidants.

Heinz ketchup features sweeteners made from vegetables and fruits, so it comes with lots of health benefits.


Is Heinz ketchup vegan? The simple answer is yes, especially if you're buying the Heinz Organic Tomato Ketchup and the "no sugar added" variant. Although the other flavors are considered vegan, there has been speculation on the type of sugar they contain.

Heinz tomato ketchup contains natural flavoring, spice, onion powder, salt, sugar, vinegar, and tomatoes. Sometimes, the mixture can be vegan, but the sugar might be filtered with bone char (made from animal bones).

Bone char doesn't comply with most vegans ethically. So when shopping for ketchup, look out for organic ketchup that wasn't filtered with bone char and contains only organic sugar. However, if you feel Heinz isn't too vegan, consider making your own ketchup to suit your taste or buy other brands that produce 100% vegan ketchup.


bottom of page